Astrology Signs

Western Astrological Signs

Western astrology or horoscope is the study of the positions and movements of the stars and how they might influence people and events. Western astrology is the most popular methods in western countries and one of the most popular astrology in the world today.

There are twelve astrology signs in the horoscope and each sign influence the characteristic and personality of the people born during that period.

The 12 Signs of the Zodiac

Zodiac BeltZodiac is the band or belt of constellations through which the Sun, planets, Moon move on their journey across the sky. These constellations were noted by astrologers and so attached a particular significance to them. The astrologers then developed the system of 12 signs based on twelve of the constellations that they considered to be particularly important. They call this belt the Zodiac, and the belt is divided into 12 equal portions called Signs. Each of these signs is unique and has its own influence. Most Western astrologers use the tropical zodiac, it begins with Aries, the sign at the Northern hemisphere Vernal Equinox always around 21th March each year.

Just like their Eastern counterpart, Western astrology is also composed of 12 zodiac signs and each sign represents its basic personality type. The twelve astrology signs start with Aries, TaurusGemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces is the last in astrology signs order.

Zodiac Qualities

The twelve astrology signs are grouped into quadruplicities (four) based on how the sign behaves (also called as qualities):




Aries  (Fire +)
Cancer  (water -)
Libra  (Air +)
Capricorn  (Earth -)

Gemini  (Air +)
Virgo  (Earth -)
Sagittarius  (Fire +)
Pisces  (water -)

Taurus  (Earth -)
Leo  (Fire +)
Scorpio  (water -)
Aquarius  (Air +)

Cardinal signs : Cardinal means “first” (from the Latin word “cardinalis”). Astrology signs of this group initiates a change of temperate zone season when the Sun makes its annual passage into them. The cardinal directions: north, south, east and west. They are the times when seasons change and therefore are times for new beginning. Spring for Aries, Summer for Cancer, Fall or Autumn for Libra and winter for Capricorn. For this reason, people who born under this catagory are instigators, ready to forge ahead with plans, and attract those that can support their efforts. Forceful and dynamic, cardinal signs are leaders.

Sometimes Libra and Aries are called equinox signs. Capricorn and Cancer are called solstice signs. Equinoxes are times when the day and night are in equally balance (day and night are 12 hours long). The solstice times are times when the day is longest (Cancer) and the night is longest (Capricorn).

Libra and Aries are times of balance, but also times of abrupt change. Capricorn and Cancer are times of extremes.

Mutable signs : It’s Latin root is mutabilis, meaning “change” and its related to the words mutation and mutate. These signs are the chameleons of each element, they can shift into many forms and take on diferent personas. Astrology signs of this group coincide with the times of change in the seasons. They are associated with change and versatility so those who born under this catagory is flexibel, adaptable, sympathetic, communicative, and restless. Since they thrive on change, this makes them able to see life from many different perspectives.

Fixed Signs : The word “fixed” means “unchanging”. The keyword for these is “stability”. They like to own things while letting others run them. Astrology signs of this group are at the height of the four seasons. They are stubborn and fixed in position, they hold power or strength and born leaders. The most persistent and consistent quadruplicity, they symbolize “action motivated by principle”. Once they get something started, they keep going at it. Individuals born under the four Fixed Signs of the Zodiac are determined, purposeful, steadfast and self-confident.

All the twelve Western astrology signs:


Chinese Astrology
Astrology Signs Compatibility
Chinese Love Horoscopes
Find your Chinese Astrology Signs
Western Astrology
List of Birthstones
Feng Shui
Chinese Astrology Signs Elements



Copyright © 2009 Game Frog
Home | Contact | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy