Chinese Horoscope

Basic Chinese Horoscope

The 12 zodiac animals that lie in your heart

Chinese horoscope has been deeply rooted in Chinese culture for centuries. It is a description of your character and things that will happen to you based on the twelve signs of Chinese zodiac or animals. Dating from 2637 BC, the Chinese horoscope is the longest chronological record in history. Chinese astrology is said to be the oldest system of horoscope in the world. They use the time of birth, including the day, month, year, and time, to reveal the insights into a person’s characteristics, personality traits, lifestyle, career direction, health, and compatibility with others. Although the system’s exact origin is unknown, Chinese astrology has guided the Chinese for over 5,000 years.

In Chinese horoscope, there are 12 animals believed to influence each of your traits, behaviour, thought, relationship and your life. Categorizing and judging one’s personality  using these animal signs is still used regularly in modern day Chinese horoscope or astrology. While Western Horoscope is based upon the months of the year, Chinese Horoscope is based upon a twelve year lunar cycle. Your sign is determined by the year in which you were born (to be accurate you must use a Chinese calendar). The animal ruling the year of your birth exercises a deep and significant influence on your life. The twelve signs of the Chinese horoscope start with the Rat, follow by the Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and the last in horoscope order would be the Boar.

Each of these signs has their own distinctive advantages. Such as the Dragon and Tiger have advantages in strength or power, Monkey and Snake are master in the intellect and brainy matter, peace-maker and kind-hearted animals like Pig and Goat for example, Goat is positioned at eight in Chinese horoscope order and number 8 is believed to be the lucky number to Chinese so those who born under the year of the Goat are given in the form of luck and fortune. The start of a new zodiac is also called Chinese new year therefore is celebrated by all Chinese throughout the world.

The astrology system is not only determined by the year you were born or which zodiac sign you have, but it is more complicated than that, it is based also by the hour of birth, the 5 elements as well as the Yin/Yang. In fact, Chinese astrology can be very specific and detailed if you want more accurate prediction.

There are also five elements in Chinese horoscope which are combined with the zodiac signs.That five elements are Wood, Fire, Earth,Metal, and Water. Those five elements are further split into two magnetic poles, positive and negative (Yin and Yang). Just like their Western horoscope, these twelve animal signs in Chinese horoscope is divided into two opposite forces. Rat, Tiger, Dragon, Horse, Monkey, and the Dog belong to the positive one. Ox, Rabbit, Snake, Sheep, Rooster, and the Boar belong to the negative one.

While Western astrology uses planets, stars and their action on their system, Chinese astrology is concerned with surrounding nature and its traits. Western signs progress month by month whereas Chinese astrology cycles yearly. Chinese astrology signs are not based on a solar year, but based on a lunar year. So instead of a sign lasting only a month, Chinese zodiac signs last a year and each is repeated (with the same sign and element) once every 60 years. People will focus on your animal sign when determining compatibility. Your Chinese horoscope is base on which yyear in the 60 year cycle you were born in.

Chinese horoscope animal signs:



Chinese Horoscope
Horoscope Compatibility
Love Astrology
Find your Chinese Horoscope Sign
Western Horoscope
List of Birthstones
Feng Shui
Chinese Horoscope Elements
Face Reading
Aura and Chakras




Copyright © 2009 Game Frog
Home | Contact | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy